MRCGP - A Summary

Since August 2007 there is a single training and assessment process for doctors wishing to obtain a CCT (Certificate of Completion of Training) in general practice. Satisfactory completion of the MRCGP is an essential requirement for entry to the General Medical Council’s GP Register and for membership of the Royal College of General Practitioners. The MRCGP is an integrated assessment programme that includes three components:

  • Applied Knowledge Test (AKT)
  • Clinical Skills Assessment (CSA)
  • Workplace-Based Assessment (WPBA)

Each of these is independent and tests different skills but together they cover the curriculum for specialty training for general practice. All components of the MRCGP are mapped to the 13 GP competencies. The MRCGP assesses a doctor’s knowledge, skills and attitudes and ensures that they not only know what is required of them as a GP but can demonstrate they are competent in all areas of the curriculum. (this is the does part of Millers prism).

Millers prism
Millers prism

Evidence for the MRCGP is collected in the e-portfolio. A summary of the evidence required for the MRCGP. All trainees, trainers and clinical supervisors should be familiar with the guidance in the York Guide to the e-PF and should refer to the RCGP website for further information.


Document Download(s):

» Top of page

View further information on MRCGP:

Require further information?

» Click for contact details